Who We Serve

We serve over 200 agencies, including ambulance services, emergency medical responders/fire/rescue, industrial-medical, law enforcement, hospital emergency departments, air medical services, training institutions, and other private individuals/agencies. In the region, approximately 80% of emergency medical services are provided by volunteers. According to the Minnesota EMSRB, the average primary service area in the Northeast region of Minnesota covers 520.6 square miles, versus the state average of 256.83 miles. Some areas are in excess of 50 miles from an initial ambulance contact.

Since 1985, we have acted as the lead regional EMS planning organization for Northeast Minnesota, serving the seven county region of Northeast Minnesota and Douglas County in Wisconsin. The region consists of the following Minnesota counties: 

  • Aitkin (15,771)
  • Carlton (35,571)
  • Cook (5,233)
  • Koochiching (12,856)
  • Itasca (45,589)
  • Lake (10,680)
  • St. Louis (200,949)

We cover 21,214 square miles (roughly 25%) of the total square mileage of Minnesota. According to the 2014 estimated United States census, the estimated population in Northeastern Minnesota is 326,649. We are governed by a Board of Directors with representation from all counties of the region, as well as all levels of EMS providers.